Commonplace Book

Greetings, Salutations and All That Jazz,

“How vain is it to sit down and write, when you have not stood up to live” Thoreau

Author, Henry Thoreau, amongst others, used a “commonplace book” to document various literary inspirations he would come across. (My preferred method is to grab  the old 2H pencil & frantically scribble notes in the margin as I go – it can make for some messy reading, second time around)

I would love to know what thoughts and quotes inhabited the pages of Thoreau’s commonplace book. I wonder what you, Mr Stephen King would keep in such an inspiration vault?  I imagine these things say as much about the author as their writings do – I also imagine, given the nature of your writings, Mr Stephen King, your literary vault would be rather peculiar 🙂

The concept of a commonplace book appeals  to me – not just because it may improve the state of my book collection. I do have a scrapbook filled with post cards, images and articles that I find interesting, though it has a rather wayward habit of getting up in the middle of the night to find a new hovel to hide. I suspect ‘Dear Stephen King’ could be a nice little space to collate the bits & bobs that interest me throughout my reading travels. It should be much harder to lose than a delinquent scrapbook.

As such, here lies my first entry, a word I came across this morning:

mer·cu·ri·al
[mer-kyoor-ee-uhl]

adjective
1. changeable; volatile; fickle; flighty; erratic: a mercurial nature.

2. animated; lively; sprightly; quick-witted.

3. pertaining to, containing, or caused by the metal mercury.

4. (initial capital letter) of or pertaining to the god Mercury.

5. (initial capital letter) of or pertaining to the planet Mercury.

noun
6.Pharmacology. a preparation of mercury used as a drug.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mercurial

Your Reader,

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Commonplace Book

  1. tess barker

    Like!!!

Leave a Reply

