2012: Year of the Woolf

Greetings, Salutations and All That Jazz,

Welcome to a new year, the begining of a new era, a fresh start. It’s the time where you make outlandish declarations about the next 12 months – I will lose 10 kg’s, I will excercise more, I will quit my bad habits as if by default the change in year permeates a change in my willpower or decision making capabilities. For all its unrealistic facets, it’s a nice concept, a season of hope that we all need, particularly after the exhaustion of the year gone by. Therefore, I’ve decided to join the bandwagon and make a few literature related resolutions of my own:

1. The Year of the Woolf:

Virigina Woolf

Last year I read “To The Lighthouse” by Virginia Woolf and enjoyed her writing immensely. So, as an effort to read more feminist literature, and because I appreciate her prose, this year I will read 5 Virginia Woolf works.

2. In short

I will read more short stories! I love short stories, though I haven’t been exposed to many short story authors. I’d like to change that this year, particularly reading more Australian literature. I will read atleast 10 Australian short stories.

3. Simply Stephen

Yes, I will read more of your works this year, Stephen King – and not just the favourites I’ve read a zillion times, but some newbies too! I will read 5 Stephen King books I’ve never read before.

4. Blog related

I am really enjoying this whole blogging adventure, and I’d like to release a regular post, so, I will post once a week.

5. In total,

I think that means that I’ve just committed to 52 posts, (let’s call it an even 50), 5 Viriginia Woolf novels, 5 Stephen King books and 10 short stories… But there’s so much more I want to do: read poetry, tackle more Russian literature, enjoy the Harry Potter series – again! Oh well, let’s see how I go. Watch this space!

I better get cracking, I’ve got some resolutions to keep…

Until next week,

Your Reader,

5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “2012: Year of the Woolf

  1. Pingback: Dear Virginia Woolf, | Dear Stephen King,

  2. Pingback: Why I Love IT | Dear Stephen King,

  3. I’ve really been digging Virginia Woolf lately, too. I can recommend her essay “Street Haunting” if you can get your hands on it. Her wordsmanship (wordswomanship?) is to swoon over.
    Good luck with your reading and blogging goals!

    • ecoshan

      Yes, yes! Her “wordswomanship” is beautiful. Thanks for the recommendation, I look forward to swooning over that one 🙂

  4. tess

    Love your blog, and l will wait with baited breath to see how you manage your new years resolutions. Looking forward to hearing from you in a week.

Leave a Reply

