Reader’s Block? What Reader’s Block?

Greetings, Salutations and All That Jazz,

I’m pleased to announce that the dark night of this reader’s soul  (see Reader’s Block) has been well and truly demolished. Smashed. Obliterated. For now. I attribute this to a gorgeous little Op-Shop on the New South Wales coast and it’s towering disarray of dusty, un-catologued bookshelves lined with pre-loveds. I also thank Dan Brown for his easily devourable thriller “Angels and Demons” (2000) that broke the dry spell, providing an interesting read. Cheers.

Since the foggy cloud of reader’s blues has shifted, I’ve been at it with a firey vengeance and I’m pumped about the reading list I have in store for myself this year. I’ve just picked up an old favourite, your “IT” (1986) which, is magic, and the perfect balm to soothe the literature starved mind. Aside from the fact that it’s pretty terrifying, it’s just so wonderfully constructed, so mesmorisingly real. In Part 1, I’m fascinated by the literary devices used to hook the reader in and make them fall in love with the protagonists: all 7 of them. It’s brilliant. Each character introduced – be it one of the main 7 or otherwise, is unique and believable. With just enough of their history and context to understand them without being boring, the scene is set and already the reader wants to, no, has to know What Happens Next. What did the friends forget in Derry? What is the monster lurking in the shadow of their subconscious? “IT” is just sublime in so many ways… as long as you don’t mind being creeped out!!

Prior to returning to “IT” I also read Nick Hornby’s “High Fidelity” (1995). I’ve seen and loved the film adapatation with John Cusack, so I had an idea of what to expect, but the novel blew my socks off – without question I could have read it in one sitting. The film is quite close to the book – much of the movie’s dialogue is simply cut and paste from the narration in the novel, which is GREAT, because the narration is everything. The character’s internal monologue and processing of his life and what’s become of it is hilariously poignant. I think it’s fair to say, it has with considerable ease, snuck right on in to my Top 5 All Time Favourite Novels. “With a bullet.” Bang. I look forward to sharing more about that in future correspondance, Stephen King, but for now, it’s back to my hot beverage and favourite pastime.

Your Rejuvinated and Enthusiastic Reader,

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Reader’s Block? What Reader’s Block?

  1. tess

    Ha ha. Glad you survived readers block, and now l feel the need to resume my friendship with those wonderful 7 from Derry. thanks Shan.

Leave a Reply

