Off The Shelf: 3 books I want to read

Three books

1. I once fell in love with a B-grade coming-of-age movie about a young girl who retraces her sister’s steps through Europe in an effort to discover the truth of why she died. When I recently learnt that this film was based on Jennifer Egan’s debut novel of same title “The Invisible Circus” it seemed quite obvious that I was meant to have that book. So, I bought it 🙂 Hopefully I’ll get a chance to read it soon.

2. Haruki Murukami’s ‘IQ84’ has been floating around in the back of my mind ever since I heard it reviewed on Triple R last year. I finally caved and bought it a few days ago for a steal ($12.95 from Big W). I can’t wait to submerge myself in the 1300 pages of parallel worlds and intertwining story lines.

3. I was supposed to read Jack Kerouac’s ‘On the Road’ in June for bookclub but before I could finish it I was hit with a sudden case of ‘Must-Re-Read-The-Harry-Potter-Series-Immediately’. A worthwhile diversion, but I would like to finish the supposed American classic.

I think these books will keep me busy for a little while… I also have a horde of books that people have generously lent me waiting for some attention. I guess the question is, which one first?

What are you reading? Anyone got any book recommendations?

4 Comments

Filed under Books

4 responses to “Off The Shelf: 3 books I want to read

  1. I want to read 1Q84, it is on my list! I am currently reading The 100 year old Man who Climbed out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson, it is hilarious and keeps the brain ticking at the same time! Before that I read Where’d you go Bernadette by Maria Semple which is excellent, funny, poignant and all sorts of good things. Next on my list to read is The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey.

    • DearStephenKing

      Wow, sounds like you have an interesting reading list!! You know, your comment made me realise that I haven’t remad anything particularly *Funny* in a long time!! Maybe I should do that! So you suggest Jonas Jonasson?

  2. A Little Blog of Books and Other Stuff

    1Q84 is an amazing read – enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

