Non-poet seeks poet friends for haiku lessons. Please enquire within.

Haikus are beautiful, aren’t they? I’m of the opinion that beautiful things are definitely worth trying.

Want to help? I think I’ll need some, and its much more fun doing it with others.

My basic understanding is that haikus depict a scene within three lines of 5-7-5 syllables, often including a seasonal reference. Hmmm, that sounds suspiciously simple… I guess I’ll find out soon!

OK, here goes.

Oceans
Source: author

.

Little explorer

discovers vast, silent seas.

Summer’s here, my dear.

.

Ouch, that’s trickier than I thought! I was right to be suspicious, it’s not that easy to fit all you want to say into 5-7-5 syllables!

So, how did my first attempt go? Suggestions, comments, reflections welcome.

How would you do it? I’d love to hear other people’s interpretations of the image above.

I wonder, do haikus ever stray from the 5-7-5 rule or is it quite strict? Is there more to a haiku than what I mentioned above?

Cheers,

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry

3 responses to “Non-poet seeks poet friends for haiku lessons. Please enquire within.

  1. Joseph Christian

    That’s actually a pretty good haiku. From what I understand though one should use an image that infers seasons instead of writing the word outright. Still, I think you did well!

    • DearStephenKing

      Hi Joseph, Wow, thanks for both the encouragement (yay!) and the technical advice, much appreciated. I just snuck on over to your blog to have a quick geezer and WOW, the poem ‘curiosity’ is really striking. Well done! Do you study poetry?
      Thanks for dropping in 🙂

      • Joseph Christian

        No problem! And thanks for checking my blog out. 🙂
        I don’t really study poetry tho I dabble from time to time, haha.

Leave a Reply

