Dear Virginia Woolf,

Virigina Woolf

 

Dear Virginia Woolf,

Greetings and salutations from the warm summer months of the year 2013. I am writing to discuss with you a rather personal matter – that of my 2012 Reading Goals, in which I did you a terrible disservice, dear Virginia.

Having been deceased these past 72 years, you are most likely unaware of
my resolution to read five of your works throughout the year of 2012. An honourable, realistic challenge, one would surmise. I had other reading goals, of course which I won’t discuss here, but am pleased to have achieved them – more or less .

As I reflect on my reading year gone by, I am filled with a sadness. And, something else, perhaps it is regret. You see, Virginia, my real failure, my greatest reading mistake was to leave my Woolf goal too late. I spent most of the year assuring myself that Time, devious as she is, was on my side. I was wrong, of course, as one often is in a head-to-head against Time. October appeared out of nowhere, tearing her way through my front door and into my life, underdressed, uninvited and without apology before I had read any of your novels.

All I could do was begin. I chose to read Mrs. Dalloway – and what a wonderful choice it was.

I had previously thought that streams-of-consciousness writing was not really my style, finding it a tad uncomfortable to read. However, the day of Clarissa Dalloway’s party was, what is the word? Entrancing. At times I was lost, wondering who or what was being described and how I’d arrived there. At other moments, I found myself swimming in the text, drinking in the way each word, considered with care and lyricism, knitted into narrative. I enjoyed drifting in and out of the minds of several characters, all preparing for the party at Clarissa’s house, all submerged in their own private worlds, with private thoughts and longings. It was a sadly-beautiful experience, if you understand what I mean. I was most confronted by the storyline of a man mid-battle for the remaining shreds of his sanity. In fact, I wonder how it came to be that you should have such an understanding of mental health issues? What had your experience of it been?

Dear Virginia, I found your writing excquisite, delicate yet robust, honest and unapologetic. I loved it, I adored it. But, it was not something I could so easily submerge myself in again so quickly.

I realised that to rush through another four of your novels would:
a/ probably not be possible given the late hour at which I had started my task; and
b/ would be disrespectful. Your novels require something, don’t they? Not just the usual sacrifice of time, laid willingly at the altar of Art by any lover of books. No, your writing requires an investment of another kind. Emotional safety, perhaps. You burrow deep, and deep you must burrow. Into the depths of humanity, into the soul, into what it means to exist and co-exist with others, relating, feeling, experiencing life in the shades granted by context and time.

So, given the above reasoning, I chose not to burl through four more Virginia Woolf works. Thus, I did not complete my reading goal and more importantly, I underestimated you, I underestimated what your writing would cost me – and what it was worth.

For that, I am deeply sorry.

I am so very grateful to have been acquainted with you through your writing, Virginia Woolf. I will read more of your works in future. I will not declare a number, nor will I vow to a timeline, but I need not do so – it’s not within my power to resist the gentle call of your prose. I look forward to where it will take me, and who I will encounter along the way.

Until our next meeting.

Your Reader,

Shan

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Dear Virginia Woolf,

  1. Shan @ DearStephenKing

    Hi Pen, you articulated it perfectly “Some authors just fill every line with a depth of meaning that requires slow and careful consideration”. Yes. So true. That’s exactly what Virginia did with this novel, you’ve said it before- she’s heavier than a beached barge!
    You know, I haven’t read her letters, I’d love to have a read.
    I’d love to read some Dickens too (we’ve had this conversation a few times, haven’t we?!) I still haven’t jumped on that train, but realise that if I really call myself a lover of literature, then I need to READ LITERATURE! haha.
    Which was the Dickens you recommended? I recently purchased Bleak House from a gorgeous second hand shop, it looks heavy, it IS heavy, but it also looks.. enticing!
    Well, birthday merriments again to you, my dear. I look forward to seeing you in flesh and chatting about all things us.
    X

  2. PennyV

    It took me a full year to read To the Lighthouse. My reading goal last year was to read a bunch of Dickens to celebrate the bicentennery of his birth – and I’m still on my second novel! And Dickens is ALL I read. Some authors just fill every line with a depth of meaning that requires slow and careful consideration. I wonder if there is something also about reading something from another time? That certain references take time to interpret and absorb? I’m so glad that you and Virginia have become acquainted. And I love that this blog is in letter form, because she was an amazing letter writer. Have you read her letters? If not, tell me and I’ll bring you the collection i have… ❤

Leave a Reply

